2021 In the Company of Laureates


On October 9th and 10th of this year (2021),

At the beautiful Lakeside Theatre located on the campus of Northern Virginia Community College, State. Regional, and Local Poet s and Poet Laureates came together for a literary event like no other.

Cathey Hailey and Alice Mergler with the assistance of the Prince William County Arts Council Programs Chair Kelly Hanekleau pulled off a two-day event of workshops, roundtable discussions, and relationship building for poets across the country to participate and engage the public.  There were even young poets sharing in this event for the first time.

The event featured our own Poet Laureate of Prince William County, Kim B. Miller  who shared her latest works,  and she like many others had her published works available for sale in the gallery, which made for a great opportunity for lovers of poetry to  speak with and purchase directly from the many authors there.

Open mic sessions on both days were hosted by John Dutton of Spilled Ink where all was welcome to share or just listen.

This biennial event started in 2015 and repeated 2017, 2019, and returned for 2021 to once again put the literary art of poetry back in Prince William County.  Hosted by PWC Arts Council with support coming from Virginia Commission for the Arts.  If you missed this year you have an entire year to prepare for the next.


The list of participants included:

  • Luisa Igloria
  • Kim B. Miller
  • Kathy Smaltz
  • Tori Lane Kovarik
  • Natalie Potell
  • Grace Cavalieri
  • JoAnn Balingit
  • Carolyn Kreiter-Foronda
  • Bill Glose
  • Marc Harshman
  • Chad Frame
  • Shelby Stephenson
Dawn Franklin is holding a public Charter Committee Meeting at the Manassas Park Library on Sunday, February 5 at 2:00 pm. The purpose of this meeting is to work on the Prince William Arts Council Charter changes. If you have any changes that you have not sent, Alice Mergler needs them by Saturday , February 4th. Please email mergleralice@gmail.com. Thank you. -- Saturday, February 4 -- Seefeldt Awards Event Planning MeetingMore Info